Research Ethics Board

Introduction

In 2001, three federal research agencies, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), jointly created the Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics (PRE) as part of a collaborative effort to promote the ethical conduct of research involving human participants.

The PRE examines when the) Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans , or "TCPS 2 ," should be applied, and reviews the goals and rationale of the policy. It defines the guiding ethical principles of the TCPS. It discusses the way these principles are applied in practice and introduces the relationship between the TCPS and the law.

The TCPS document replaces SSHRC's Ethics Guidelines for Research with Human Subjects, the Medical Research Council (MRC) Guidelines on Research Involving Humans, and MRC's Guidelines for Research on Somatic Cell Gene Therapy in Humans. An electronic version of the TCPS is available for your review. All protocols submitted to the Board must be consistent with these guidelines.

As a consequence, all research involving human subjects at the Royal Military College (RMC) of Canada or elsewhere conducted by or administered to RMC students, post-doctorate fellows, staff and faculty must be reviewed to assess its compliance with the TCPS. The Research Ethics Board (REB) of RMC has been established to review all research conducted at or for the College that involves humans.

Please contact the REB chair directly for all necessary forms.

No research with human subjects should begin and no money shall be distributed prior to receiving approval from the Research Ethics Board

Members of the RMC REB

Member Name E-mail
CHAIR - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr. Sarah Hill sarah.hill@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Management and Economics Dr. Nicole Bérubé Nicole.berube@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr. Danielle Charbonneau danielle.charbonneau@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of History Dr. Sean Maloney sean.maloney@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Management and Economics Dr. Fernando Fachin Fernando.fachin@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of English Maj Andy Belyea andy.belyea@rmc.ca
Community Member Dr. Valerie Wood wood.val.m@gmail.com

Members of the RMC Undergraduate REB

Member Name E-mail
Member - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr Bob St John stjohn-r@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr. Lobna Cherif Lobna.cherif@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr. Mathieu Gagnon Mathieu.gagnon@rmc.ca

The Administrative Officer of the REB Graduate Studies and Research Division can be reached at 613-541-6000, extension 3728.

Note - No research involving animals is performed at RMC.

Date modified: